• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

Books you were forced to read at school!

headpodd

Was just wondering what novels, plays, poetry was on your school syllabus.

We had to read a tonne of books for english lit. and french lit. A-level and we had to analyse them in so much detail I was sick of them by the end of it. A great way to ruin a perfectly good book. lol.

These are some of the ones I had to read (memory is failing so list not complete):

A Winters Tale - Shakespeare
The Rivals - Sheridan
Jude the Obscure - Hardy
Sons and Lovers - Lawrence
In Cold Blood - Capote
I know Why A Caged Bird Sings - Angelou
L'Assomoir - Zola
Les Saints Vont En Enfer - Cesbron
Thomas Hardy's poems

Cheers
Headpodd

I'm a sophomore in high school and so far we've only had to watch a movie on To Kill a Mockingbird and write an essay on it.

I read it three or four years ago and liked it then, but now I really don't care for it. I have other, more long-lasting favorites now.

Animal Farm
To Kill a Mockingbird
Of Mice and Men
The Merchant of Venice

There were probably a few more, but I can't remember them. It's been a while :)

Only one sticks in my memory - Cider With Rosie.

About the only thing I remember of it is that I'd much rather have been reading Clive Cussler.

To tell you the truth I hate my English teacher for the stuff that she has us read.

From what I have gathered, there are two kinds of English teachers, and they can be classified based on the activities they have you do.

One teacher has the class read To Kill a Mockingbird and write an essay on racial prejudice.