• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

Fred Guterl: The Fate of the Species

The Fate of the Species, by Fred Guterl. I'm halfway through this book and really enjoying it so far. Written by a former editor of Scientific American, this book explores possible ways that human society may be setting itself up for destruction through our growth and our technology. The book purports to take a "worst imaginable" view of the subject--however, based on the 1st chapters on influenza (I'm a physician), I'd have to say that that statement probably is an understatement b/c the postulated worst case flu scenario is, in my opinion, really as matter of "if" not "when." I highly recommend this book.

Leonardo Noto
leonardonoto.com | Physician, Paratrooper, Boxer/Grappler Turned Grumpy Old Writer!

Sorry I logged in this late in the evening, your prediction doesn't make for good bedtime reading. :eek:

The Fate of the Species, by Fred Guterl. I'm halfway through this book and really enjoying it so far. Written by a former editor of Scientific American, this book explores possible ways that human society may be setting itself up for destruction through our growth and our technology. The book purports to take a "worst imaginable" view of the subject--however, based on the 1st chapters on influenza (I'm a physician), I'd have to say that that statement probably is an understatement b/c the postulated worst case flu scenario is, in my opinion, really as matter of "if" not "when." I highly recommend this book.

Leonardo Noto
leonardonoto.com | Physician, Paratrooper, Boxer/Grappler Turned Grumpy Old Writer!