• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

pretty graphic novels

staceass

this may come off a little weird, but... :rolleyes:

i just finished reading v for vendetta, and, as much as i loved it, i didn't enjoy the art work very much -- i actually had some trouble keeping my characters straight because of it, i think.

i'm a bit new to graphic novels, and i was hoping to get a few more while they're on the cheap at dvdboxoffice.com (that's where i've been buying a lot of my books lately... they've got their entire selection of graphic novels on sale this month), just in case i end up not liking them.
is this type of inky artwork that was in Vendetta pretty much standard? are there any particularly nice-looking graphic novels out there?

Thanks for the link. I see a movie is to be released soon.

staceass, it would help if you tell us what your idea of "nice-looking" artwork is. What illustrators and artists do you like? Do you prefer adventure, drama, comedy, etc. when you read a graphic novel?

The best looking graphic novels are the ones painted by Alex Ross. My copy of Marvels is one I treasure and I put it in a solid steel mortar-proof bunker, the book itself cased in multiple layers of plastic protection covers, sandwiched between clear glass in wood veneer frames.

I love it that much.

But then as Occlith said, nice art is subjective. I hated Alex Ross before, but now I like him.