• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

Science

HBinjection

I studied literature and composition in college and so feel a sharp lack of scientific knowledge, especially since most of my friends are scientists. I now read a lot of science books that are more or less written for the lay person. A few of my favorites are:

Concilience -E.O. Wilson

The Moral Animal -Wright

That's a good start for now. I just noticed that most of the science books I've read deal with biology, specifically evolutionary biology.

Has anyone else read these books or does anyone else enjoy this subject?

Haven't read the two you mention, but I do read a fair number of science books. Steven Jay Gould is always good value, as is Richard Dawkins (despite their mutual antagonism!). A different branch of science, but Carl Sagan's books I find fascinating, and "The Demon-Haunted World" is extremely readable - it's a great shame he died so young.

Cheers,
David.

I have the same profile than HBinjection. The only books from scientists I have read are "The Demon Haunted-World" by Sagan and David Flikin's "Stephen Hawking's universe" (I couldn't get into Hawking's "A brief history of time"). My husband recommended me Simon Singh, who wrote "The code book" (about encryption methods) and "The Fermat's enigma" (a history of mathematics), both readable for the lay person, but since I'm generally more drawn to fiction I have only read parts of "The Code Book" so far...