1. Welcome to BookandReader! We LOVE our books here and hope to see you on the forums sharing your experiences and opinions on the books you have read recently. Registering for our site is easy and free so what are you waiting for?!?!

Books similar to Tamora Pierce

Discussion in 'Sci-Fi, Fantasy & Horror Books' started by Yukina W., Jun 18, 2006.

  1. Yukina W.

    Yukina W. New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    everything, Tamora Pierce's books
    I have read all of Tamora Pierce's books (and own:) . I was wondering if is somthing simialr to her stuff because I just love it.
  2. WickedWitch

    WickedWitch Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    How about trying Mercedes Lackey's books "Arrows Of The Queen" and "Magic's Pawn". If you like them, she has written lots more books set in this same universe.
  3. Yukina W.

    Yukina W. New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    everything, Tamora Pierce's books
    It's really funny you said her. I also own a lot of her work. The two series you named I saddly do not own. I have been meaning to buy them and never got around to it. Any more?
  4. WickedWitch

    WickedWitch Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Those two books by Mercedes Lackey are the first two trilogies in the Valdemar universe.


    I would also recommend:
    Howl's Moving Castle, by Diana Wynne Jones - also the movie.
    The Hero and the Crown and The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley
    The Earthsea trilogy by Ursula K. Le Guin
    Rebel Angels and Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray
  5. knitteratheart

    knitteratheart New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    dragons of autum twilight
    I'm also a great lover of Tamara Pierce!
    If you like her circle of magic you should try "So you want to be a wizard" by Diane Duane
    If you like her tortall series...the blue sword and hero and the crown is good like wickedwitch said...also try dragonbone chair by tad williams
  6. Yukina W.

    Yukina W. New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    everything, Tamora Pierce's books
    Howl's Moving Castle- own and love it I liked the movie too
    The Hero and the Crown, The Blue Sword - two of my favorite books
    The other three I have not read yet I'll try them thanks a lot.
  7. Yukina W.

    Yukina W. New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    everything, Tamora Pierce's books
    thanks for the help
  8. BookAddict

    BookAddict New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    For school: The Struggle for Mastery by Carpenter
    I love Tamora Pierce!

    You might like Sherwood Smith's Crown Duel/Court Duel (the newer edition has the two in one book, older editions have them separate) and her Wren series. And if you like her stuff, I can point you to more of it, as some of her unpublished stuff you can read free online.

    I second Diane Duane's Young Wizards series, which is a little more like Harry Potter, though still pretty different.

    William Goldman's The Princess Bride is fun. A bit different than the movie, but I still really like it.

    Patricia C. Wrede has some really good books. I especially like Sorcery and Cecilia, which she wrote with Caroline Stevermer.

    Lloyd Alexander's books are fun as well.

    And...that's all I can think of for now, though I'm sure there are more.
  9. Yukina W.

    Yukina W. New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    everything, Tamora Pierce's books
    I own the newer version of Sherwood Smith's Crown Duel/Court Duel. I really like it too. I have not tried her Wren series yet. I'll try it. I would love to know about more of her work.

    I have read Patricia C. Wrede's books before. They were very good.

    Thanks for the help.
  10. BookAddict

    BookAddict New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    For school: The Struggle for Mastery by Carpenter
    If you like Sherwood Smith's works, join the Athanarel community on LiveJournal. Joining is free, but you have to be a member of the community to read some of the posts. It's a great place to discuss her works, and she posts some of her unpublished works online free to read.

    Another series I recommend is The Attolia series (The Thief, Queen of Attolia, King of Attolia) by Megan Whalen Turner. I recently read it, and it was really good. I liked each book more than the one before it, though some people like The Thief the best.
  11. FrodoLIVES

    FrodoLIVES New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    New Moon by Stephenie Meyer
    Let's see...I read TONS of fantasy so I hope I can help out here.
    Eragon and Eldest by Chistopher Paolini (you either like it or hate it-I'm one of the ones who likes it ;))
    Sabriel, Lirael, and Abhorsen by Garth Nix are also VERY good. I happened to like the second and third better than the first but they're all awesome.
    If you haven't read The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman, you simply must. It's the first of a trilogy (The Subtle Knife and The Amber Spyglass follow the first). They're making a film of The Golden Compass that will come out in December. I'm very excited.
    Hope I was able to help!
  12. Yukina W.

    Yukina W. New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    everything, Tamora Pierce's books
    I have read all those and own them too. They are very good books so thanks.
  13. Thorn

    Thorn New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    What Patricia Wrede books have you read? The Enchanted Forest chronicles? If not, I'd suggest those; they remind me of Tamora Pierce in a lot of ways, but I actually liked them better.

Share This Page