• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

Language Studies

Sapper41

Well I couldn't think of a good thrad title. But like we were talking about on another thread, Who studies languages other then english? More specifically Ancient languages?

I personal study Biblical Hebrew and you can learn some basic too, at:

Learn Biblical Hebrew

It's a pretty good site for the basics Enjoy! Like I said if you have any question just ask I may be able to help, even though i'm a beginner ,myself.

Shalom!

Here are the posts from the other thread:

Freya said:
Like the advantage of learning Latin and Greek... you get to understand where a lot of modern languages come from.

Themistocles said:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freya
Like the advantage of learning Latin and Greek... you get to understand where a lot of modern languages come from.

Someone who understands that etymology is actually very interesting, and therefore it's worthwhile studying classical languages! Such a breath of fresh air!

Sapper41 said:
I'm studying biblical hebrew right now, and some words have connections to modern English words but not any where near as many as Latin or Greek.

Themistocles said:
How hard is hebrew to learn? How is the alphabet constructed? It's interesting to know, because I find the Greek alphabet very easy to deal with and have no problems recognising it, but I'm also learning Japanese and struggling to even build up a complete knowledge of the hiragana alphabet, let alone katakana and the thousands of kanji characters! One thing you notice when studying a language with completely separate roots is also that grammatical forms and functions differ tremendously, whereas most European languages I have studied work similarly.

Sapper41 said: