• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

Martial Arts Movies

Gem

kickbox
I have an embarrassing addiction to martial arts movies. I don't mean just the er celebrated Kung Fu ones, but also the really over the top cheesy American ones from the late 70s/80s (I'm thinking Best of the Best, No Retreat no Surrender etc). Yes they were rubbish, but gloriously rubbish - the music, the training montages, the wooden acting - made them all very watchable. I of course draw the line at Chuck Norris films.Honestly :eek: .

I watched American Shaolin last night, and it was hilarious in so many ways and worth a watch just to see Jin from Lost strutting his stuff.
The point of this thread? Any other fans out there? Anyone have any recommendations?

I *love* martial arts flicks. My staple diet usually includes the Hongkong flicks, either period pieces (stuff like The Swordsman II, Taichi Master, Bride with the White Hair, etc, etc) and modern action pieces (stuff like SPL, My Dad is a Hero, Supercop).

Recent movies I liked: Seven Swords, The Myth (whoa the chick in this movie is really, uhm, good-looking), Fearless and SPL.

Of the American ones, I also liked Best of the Best, but I personally find that for American martial arts flicks, the action scenes are slow. Not slow slow, but if you watch a lot of the Hongkong movies you'll know what I mean.

Hollywood is incresingly starting to enlist action choreographers from HK for this very reason - their close combat action scenes are the best in the world at present.

The problem with HK movies are the plots are normally very weak, and getting weaker by the year (and this not just for action movies too - almost everything by HK now is weak).

ds