• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

My Weekly Editorial

Dogmatix

Besides being a veterinarian I also write a weekly editorial for The Times News on vet medicine. I've decided to start posting it here. There will be a new one each Thursday. I will not give ANY veterinary advice here so please don't ask for it. Just want to share my column with you all.

Don’t Let Your Older Pet Suffer in Silence

Thanks to better medicines, balanced commercial diets, and the increasing importance of the human animal bond, more pets are living well into their golden years. Owners are more concerned with their pet’s wellbeing and veterinarians are more proactive in recognizing the early signs of disease. Senior pets have their own unique health concerns and owners need to educate themselves about the early signs that a problem may be brewing.

Age is not a disease and a healthy older pet should be active and happy. When a cat or dog starts “slowing down” it’s time to consider arthritis. Arthritis is a degenerative disease of synovial joints. Synovial joints are ones in which the ends of two bones that oppose each other are coated with caps of cartilage and encased in a fluid filled capsule. Knees, hips, and elbows are all synovial joints. Arthritis starts when cartilage is damaged or worn during use or as a result of trauma. Congenital bone deformation and increased joint laxity also contribute to the onset of arthritis. Once the process starts the joint becomes inflamed and painful. The cartilage cushion deteriorates and the joint fluid loses its lubricating properties. Eventually permanent changes occur in the bones themselves.