• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

Need Help Finding These Sci-Fi Titles

Levermint

Hi, anyone who can help me find these books, or who can recommend a site or engine that could help, please PLEASE and thank you THANK YOU . I've been agonizing over this first one for about three years, since I found some old stuff from school.

1. ) It's what I imagine is a juvenile fiction novel. Science fiction/fantasy, actually. I read it when I was 12, in 1986 in my school library. All I remember ( I know, rarely are more frustrating words ever spoken ) is that it involves a scientist working in his home on a kind of gateway technology. A nurse who I think lives next door comes over to give him a casserole ( for some reason I really remember that, must've been hungry when I read it ) and she does something to his machine. They both end up in another universe or other planet, on the banks of a waterway, a river or creek. It was hardcover and I want to give some details without leading anyone's thinking. It was grey? Grey and purple cover, I think.
I tried the school website and even called the library, but no dice. The lady who was there is long gone and nothing like I described was to be found by the woman who replaced her.

2. ) A man dies and ends up in the underworld before Anubis who gives the man certain abilities in order that he go and assassinate Anubis' brother Horus. I want to say this is pretty recent, but maybe I just heard of it recently. I just "sounds" like the last 5 years, if that makes sense.