• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

Politics Primer

direstraits

I'm looking for some good primers on politics. General stuff, nothing too deep please. I'm a newbie in this domain, and would appreciate any recommendations. Just looking to diversify my reading.

Thanks! :)

ds

How about Jon Stewart's A Citizen's Guide to Democracy Inaction. If you watch the Daily Show on Comedy Central you might like this book. It pokes fun at democracy as it is today meanwhile explaining how it works very well.

Thanks for the reply, ecks... there wasn't any takers for this thread for so long I thought I had to reread my An Introduction to Politics over and over again.

I'll check it out, though I'm not sure if Stewart is a little too biased for a newbie like me...

ds

Surprisingly, he's not biased much at all. He skewers both sides equally! :D Are you specifically looking at political primers for the United States, or the world as a whole?

World as a whole, but I'd read US too. I've already got Bill's My Life in my To Get List, hoping to get a glimpse of politics from his POV.

What I'm looking for may fall also into World History, but some insights into some of the decisions that made (or making) the world it is today should be quite interesting reading.

Does Stewart talks about Republicans also or Democrats only?

ds

direstraits said:
World as a whole, but I'd read US too. I've already got Bill's My Life in my To Get List, hoping to get a glimpse of politics from his POV.

What I'm looking for may fall also into World History, but some insights into some of the decisions that made (or making) the world it is today should be quite interesting reading.

Does Stewart talks about Republicans also or Democrats only?

ds