• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

The Writing Process

Slugbaby

The writing process: Fantasy fiction

How do you write your book?

Well a question that many people ask, now I’m no expert but I do follow a process that seems to work well for me. I thought I’d share it with you, or at least with those who are interested.

I work fairly blind and my stories tend to have merely a loose direction, I think it adds to the fun of writing and keeps a creative element that I may lose from too ridged a plan. I then write the tale with little if any regard for the grammatical issues. After all the father of western literature, Homer was illiterate but he still had a fine tale to convey. This is where I believe the fun really begins; the story is the most important aspect to get onto paper, even if it’s a literary disaster. So enjoy the journey follow your feelings and let your imagination run riot.

With this initial process I keep a journal, here I add flow charts for character plots, story links, timelines and a whole host of things in order to maintain a cohesive link throughout the story (and not become lost in your own creation). The journal becomes my bible where I can check-up past events to ensure I’ve got the right character or place for the next idea. I keep a record of where items such as swords were obtained or lost; which person was riding which horse and all the little details that together make the plot more tangible.