• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

What is an assault weapon?

BlakeJones74

An E-friend from another forum sent me over here. I have no writing background, hell I'm a high school dropout. I would like to work on my skills a little bit so I figured what could it hurt by posting it here? Anyways...

“What is an Assault Weapon?”
I am not a writer. I am not a lobbyist, or looking for a political career, or trying to raise money, or pushing any agenda of any sort. I am not here to tell you what you need to do, how you need to act; I can’t even tell you the best way to prevent violence. I am simply a young American who works his ass off day in and day out trying to live a happy life. I work a very blue collar job. I live in a small town in rural America. I’m a fan of God, guns, my country, tattoos and horses. I am not a perfect person. I cuss, I fight, I get lazy, I have even made a few mistakes where I have found myself in legal trouble as a result. (Thank God nothing that would impede my gun rights.) I have seen firsthand what guns in the wrong hands can do. I have also seen where if a gun would have been in the right hands it could have saved a lot of suffering.
I spend a fair amount of time online reading opinions of other people. I have tried to look at both the pro-gun and anti-gun side. I see the common stereotypes associated with people on both sides. While I have just scratched the surface, I have begun reading into a history of firearms and their worldly influence. Because none of the current issues involve hunting arms and they seem to concentrate on “assault weapons” this is where I will focus my attentions this time around.