• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

An novella opportunity.

manuscriptx

I applied to an employment advertisement listed in a writing and editing forum. The individual who responded was more a recruitment tool for writers asking those interested to write novellas for their newspaper/magazine circulation.

When I asked for specific imformation, that was what I got, nothing directly specific to me and what I would be required to do. So I sent them four examples of my work writing poems in the Writer's Showcase Forum here on this website. Book&Reader

Being an amateur writer, I'm unfamiliar with novellas, what are they?
Can I write a sizable ( 25 - 200 page ) amount of work or is there a universal standard to novellas?

Another question I have is, can this opportunity be arbitrary in terms of negotiating salary and deadlines for my work?

I spent last night determining what I would want as payment which I think is reasonable given the amount of work I would have to come up with #1 and the overall uncertainty of what material I'll have to decide on #2, though I have some ideas ready to use.

The only thing that could potentially mess me up is time constraints.
I could write as many as 100 ( 2 paragraph ) pages in roughly three months time. If it's standard practice for professional writers to do that
mere weeks, then this opportunity is not for me.

Only if I can be given the latitude I need, I can do it - no sweat.

Sounds extremely dodgy. Wouldn't touch it at all.

Being an amateur writer, I'm unfamiliar with novellas, what are they?