1. Welcome to BookAndReader!

    We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

    Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

Authors similar to Kenzaburo oe????

Discussion in 'Book Search & Suggestions' started by japn, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. japn

    japn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    nip the buds, shoot the kids/the WUBC/NLMG
    id like recommendations for authors similar to kenzaburo oe. it would be greatly appreciated if you could name any authors that i may like if i loved him. (I have read kazuo ishiguro, murakami, and soseki as well [liking the first two most] and enjoyed these if it would help to further recommend anything). thank you!
     
  2. NotTheDoctor

    NotTheDoctor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    2
    Currently Reading:
    The Makioka Sisters, by Junichiro Tanizaki
    hello japn

    I'm not sure what you mean by "similar". You mention Soseki, Ishiguro and Murakami (Ryu or Haruki?), but those are three very different authors with little in common, other than the fact that they're all japanese.
    Maybe you could try reading Yukio Mishima or Yasunari Kawabata.

    Good luck!
     
  3. japn

    japn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    nip the buds, shoot the kids/the WUBC/NLMG
    what i mant was, if anyone were to recommend them, ive already read them (haruki by the way). ive also read mishima. mainly i want to know any authors with the same feel or that have evoked similar emotions in a similar way.
     
  4. japn

    japn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    nip the buds, shoot the kids/the WUBC/NLMG
    darker than haruki murakami?

    I was wondering if anyone might know of any authors that they found to be just as surreal, interesting, and moving as haruki murakami, but who writes somewhat darker, more roughly emotional stories. i would be very grateful if anyone could reply to this. thank you!
     
  5. Libra

    Libra New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    5,257
    Likes Received:
    4
    Currently Reading:
    Seth Grahame-Smith: Pride and Prejudice and Zombie
    Is it just Japanese writers you are aiming for? I have a book called The Oxford Book of Japanese Short Stories and among the authors you mention there are a few others like Kobo Abe.
     
  6. japn

    japn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    nip the buds, shoot the kids/the WUBC/NLMG
    no, it can be any author of any nationality that is similar to what i have described.
     
  7. japn

    japn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    nip the buds, shoot the kids/the WUBC/NLMG
    also please ignore the post about "darker than murakami". i meant to puut it in anotner thread, but i made some mistake
     
  8. Libra

    Libra New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    5,257
    Likes Received:
    4
    Currently Reading:
    Seth Grahame-Smith: Pride and Prejudice and Zombie
    I merged the threads because I found it to be similar topic/subject.
     
  9. japn

    japn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    nip the buds, shoot the kids/the WUBC/NLMG
    oh

    oh, ok. that explains it. would you happen to know any writers then, that write similarly to oe (as in evoking similar emotions from readers, having similar subjects, or writing similarly), but also have a surreal quality to them?
     
  10. Libra

    Libra New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    5,257
    Likes Received:
    4
    Currently Reading:
    Seth Grahame-Smith: Pride and Prejudice and Zombie
    Frank Kafka?
    Dark Gothic lit maybe?
     
  11. japn

    japn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    nip the buds, shoot the kids/the WUBC/NLMG
    dark and deep writing

    i suppose thats a good start, however i didnt really like franz kafka too much. i didnt find him to write in a way that was very emotionally powerful. mainly, i am looking for authors who write very deeply and darkly with wonderful language and have interesting, provocative, and emotional stories. that is how i would decsccribe kenzaburo oe's writing, and i was wondering if there were any other authors who write in a similar way. (A bonus would be if they also wrote in a surreal way like haruki murakami or something, but thats not as much of a demand for me). thank you!
     
  12. NotTheDoctor

    NotTheDoctor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    2
    Currently Reading:
    The Makioka Sisters, by Junichiro Tanizaki
    Have you read The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides? It's dark, sweet and beautifully written. I would also recommend The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, by Junot Diaz. I know they don't seem like the most obvious choices but these are two of the most emotionally powerful books I have read that I feel are in a way similar to Murakami's.
     
  13. japn

    japn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    nip the buds, shoot the kids/the WUBC/NLMG
    no, i have not read those books, and ill check them out. however, just to say, i am not really looking for something similar to murakami, but to kenzaburo oe, as he is my favorite author.
     

Share This Page