• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

Empty Books?

raven4022

I'm in my last year of a Graphic Design BA and the project I'm working on at the moment is about the lack of content in a book.
Just wondered if anyone had any opinions on this. Can a book- not necessarily a novel- have no content? Any thoughts on this?
Very weird I know, but any comments would be useful.

raven,

Can you elaborate a little on what you mean by lacking content?

I feel that all of the books I read have content worthy of the book, and it just matters whether or not that content appeals to me and captures the scenarios and characters within the book as to whether it is a good novel.

Mxx

It's a hard one to explain....
One of the questions I was set was "Can anything truly lack content?" We then had to choose a subject area to work in and I chose books. I wondered if a book can lack content, other than having blank pages?
Hope that helps?
I'm still trying to understand it myself.

I think that the only way a book could lack content is by having completely blank pages, as you said. In a book there is always a person undergoing certain experiences (ranging from the very mundane to the extraordinary) and that person reacts to those experiences. I think this alone could qualify as 'content'.

That's all, really...

Cheers, Martin :D

If the question is "Can anything truly lack content?", then I'd have to say, 'no'.