• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

Frustrated

jaynebosco

Is there anybody who works in a library as either a librarian or a library assistant or as a library technician?

The reason I ask is that I graduated from a Library Technicians diploma program back in June and have been applying off and on (sometimes more off than on) for Library Technican/Assistant positions since I graduated and have had interviews (and even a job until the institution canned the position and decided to re-post and lost the job as a result of union regulations :confused: ) for a few of them (and am waiting for a potential one [at least that is what I was told a month ago]). I am getting increasingly frustrated in the application process and am thinking of quitting applying. I am wondering how long it took to you to find you something, either full-time, part-time or casual or even a temp positon. I would like to know that what I am doing is not in vain. Even if it isn't in this field, I would like to know how long it took you applying to get your first position out of college. Thanks.:)

Library technician....so you deal with informational media?.......PM sent regarding job postings.

SFG75 said:
Library technician....so you deal with informational media?.......PM sent regarding job postings.

Thanks for the job posting site.

I would do reader's advisory, probably help with teaching databases to individuals (depends on the setting), I might do cataloguing, or I might just check out materials to library customers. It would depend on the library situation. Sometimes I could be the one in charge or I could not work in a library and do data entry type work. Totally depends on the situation. It's a fairly new title for library workers.

jaynebosco said: