• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

J.R.R. Tolkien: The Hobbit

The Hobbit

Hobbit/Lord of the Rings is one of my favorite subjects. I read the Hobbit quite a few times before I graduated to the Trilogy. Cannot recommend this book enough.

Mike

I was given Lord of the Rings as a Christmas present, so I'm hoping to get around to reading it soon.

LOTR

If you really like LOTR when you read it, you may want to consider picking up The Silmarillion. It is the Tolkeins history of Middle Earth. Talks about all of the tales, and ages past. He considered it his greatest work.

Mike

I read The Fellowship of the Ring about a year ago, then stopped because I really didn't have the time to read it and truly enjoy it anymore.

I'm going to have to re-read The Fellowship of the Ring again before I can even think of starting The Two Towers... I think reading The Hobbit first, and maybe The Silmarillion as well, will make the experience even better? (I guess I can kiss my money goodbye on those ;))

Just can't wait until the holidays!

btw-- The twelve (?) volumes by Christopher Tolkien concerning Middle Earth, are those his own work or "revisions" of the stories that weren't published by his father? (or is it his grandfather?)

The 12 volumes are just putting together the notes that his father left. It concerns the war of the ring described in the beginning of Fellowship (The movie) There are also a ton of stories relating to old ages, characters and cultures. Tolkein truly world built to the point of inventing a whole language (elvish)
I have the first two volumes. The book of lost tales 1 and 2. Beautiful writing. It has been compared to the behind the scenes of the writing of the Lord of The Rings.

Mike