• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

Murakami/Japanese fiction

starchild42

Yet another newbie here. I've posted my intro over on the Introductions board but no time like the present to dive in.

I've recently discovered Haruki Murakami and frankly, he's blown me away. Fantastic stuff. "Norweigian Wood" got me hooked, and I'm slowly working my way through his previous novels ("Sputnik Sweetheart" and "South Of The Border, West of the Sun" done so far) before getting started on "Kafka On The Shore".

Anyway, I guess my question is, when I'm done with the Murakami "to be read" pile, I'd like to explore some other Japanese writers. Any recommendations? You know, in true Amazon style - "If you like Murakami, you'll like (x,y,z)?"

Thanks for any input,

L2

this is not a japanese author, lian hearn,( i think that is his pseudonym though) but he has a trilogy out, tales of the otori, set in a fictional japan, during the time of the samurai. it is great. i highly recommend it.

Some Japanese authors whose work I have enjoyed very much, for different reasons, are:

Yukio Mishima, The Sailor Who Fell From Grace With the Sea. He's written a lot that's been translated into English, this being one of his best known. He's famous also for a ritual, political public suicide.

Banana Yoshimoto. She's very modern and young, part of the new Japanese wave of writers. I've read Lizard, Kitchen, and Sleep, liked all very much.These are short reads with a lot of insight into culture.

Kazuo Ishiguro. I've read When We Were Orphans, which is a bit strange. He writes in English, but was born in Nagasake. He also won the Booker for Remains of the Day. I think he has a new book out now.

Other authors you might look into if you like Murakami: