• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

Novice Reader Seeks Advice

Halcyon

Greetings,

As 2004 raps up I’ve decided to make reading a much more important part of my life in 2005. I must confess, as a young college graduate, my exposure to literary work is extremely limited. I’m becoming increasingly aware of the value associated with critical reading skills and enlightenment of subject matter. I’ve made a goal to read 100 books in 2005, and I’m here to ask for some advice.

Before coming to this website, I bought and read “The well-educated mind” by Susan W. Bauer. I loved it, but it stresses a list a classical masterpieces in chronological order. Frankly, I’m not a good enough reader for these books, so I’ve decided to fulfill her list in 2006.

The possibilities of book lists for 2005 are endless, and I want to know what some experienced readers would suggest I do. I’ve had 3 main ideas:

General Categories

In this I would pick so many books by genre. For example, 20 history type books, 30 fiction books ect.​

Author

I was thinking it might be fun to read all the books of several authors​

One book at a time

I strive to have a plan, or I fear I might not succeed in my 100 book year. But maybe any plan is doomed to failure, should I just take it one book at a time?​

What do you, the experienced reader, think? Also, I would love some books that you consider fun and easy to read in whatever category above.

Thank you,
Stephen