• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

Overwhelmed

lethaldose

I have wrote a handful of short stories. I still have a couple of short stories in my head that I could write. But the story that is calling to me the most right now is definitely a novel. To give you a brief biography of my life. I am a full time college student, I work twenty plus hours a week too, and I have a wife and three kids (the youngest six weeks old). So needless to say I don't have a lot of time to write either, but that is not my real problem. My longest story is 35,000 words and it took me three months to write. In comparison, it feels that I have walked over a few small hills only to find myself at the foot of Mt. Fuji. Because of this I have not written the first word of this story, everytime I sit down to do it I think of some reason to put it off or I just allow myself to load up a game on my computer rather than Microsoft Word. How do I work up the courage to begin this long journey?

Sorry can't help with your problem but just out of interest how many pages is thirty-five thousand words? Quite a few I would think.

lethaldose said:
... Because of this I have not written the first word of this story, everytime I sit down to do it I think of some reason to put it off or I just allow myself to load up a game on my computer rather than Microsoft Word. How do I work up the courage to begin this long journey?

You could turn the computer off, and use a pen and paper. Works for me.

blueboatdriver said:
Sorry can't help with your problem but just out of interest how many pages is thirty-five thousand words? Quite a few I would think.

Sorry I said that wrong, it was 22,000 words and it was 35 single spaced pages.

lethaldose said: