• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

The Dark Tower series - please no spoliers

Rincewind

Before anyone says anything I know there are already threads about this but they contain spoliers.

I'm a newbie to this particlular series of books, though I have read a lot of King's other work.
I've read the first 2 and I'm about 70 odd pages into part 3. So far I think it's an excellent series but very different from his other stuff, more myth/adventure.

I just wondered what the general opinion was of this series, without giving anything away.
Some say King is not as good as he used to be but I don't think that is the case jusdging by these books. :)

Some say King is not as good as he used to be but I don't think that is the case judging by these books.

I think that when people say he isn't as good as he used to be, they're referring to the past 5 years or so... and the first four books in the DT series were published '82, '87, '91, and '97 (althought he revised the first (The Gunslinger) in 2003).

Anyway, it's definitely worth your time, I'm sure you'll enjoy the series.

I have read the first 3 books and I have started Wizard & Glass (I took a break for a bit) I thought they were great so far.

I have never read any mid world (Tolkien) type of books in my life, and have never read any one of King's other writings either.

I am drawn to The Dark Tower......When I was reading the first 3 books, sometimes I felt like I was walking with them. I love it so far

I will get back to Wizard & Glass as soon as I'm finished with the book I'm reading now....

Isabell said:
I will get back to Wizard & Glass as soon as I'm finished with the book I'm reading now....

Which, being The Witching Hour, will be in about ten years... :D