1. Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

J.D. Salinger

Discussion in 'Author Discussion' started by tommm, Mar 6, 2004.

1. tommm

tommm New Member

There was a big thread about "catcher in the rye" not long ago but i was wondering if anyone has read any of salinger's other books and what do you think of them?

2. pertolote23

pertolote23 New Member

Currently Reading:
    Letters to a Young Poet/ Rainer Maria Rilke, The Red Wheel August 1914/ Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn
    I have read, to the best of my knowledge, all of his other works. Long ago, when I was a freshman in high school, I wrote a research paper on him. I wanted to write the paper on him cause I knew my mother would have to take me to the downtown library to read all his short stories published in magazines as well. They are great works... in my opinion. Nine Stories would be my first pick after The Catcher in the Rye.

Have you read any of his other publications? Are you thinking about it? If you have what did you think... what did you think of Catcher?
    a

3. Shade

Shade New Member

Currently Reading:
    Miss Herbert, Adam Thirlwell
    The dialogue in A Perfect Day for Bananafish (the first story in Nine Stories, which is published in the UK as For Esmé - With Love and Squalor, and other stories) is just perfect, and Salinger is a master at italicising stresses in speech which imparts the meaning brilliantly.