• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

Post-Apocalyptic! End of the World books

Martin

aimg62.exs.cx_img62_6805_images54.jpg

Alrightie.

Anyone got some decent post-apocalyptic recommendations for me? Something similar to, say, Saramago's Blindness or Atwood's Oryx and Crake?

Please give a brief description with your recommendation, not just a title.

Thanks.

Cheers

Alas Babylon - Pat Frank Russians nuke USA and its about A guy in his little town that survived the attacks very good.

The Postman - David Brin ( I think) Like the movie but WAY better!

Earth Abides A disease kills of most of the people in the USA and a few band together and try to survive :)

Sorry i'm not good at the summary / review thing.

Good topic! My favorite genre and two of my favorite books! I will follow this thread closely.

Have you read the Chrysalids also? The apocalypse is not a recent occurance in this novel (as it is in O&C and Blindness), but it's by John Wyndham as well and I really enjoyed it. It's a fascinating book about a group of children living in a society that condemns mutation of any kind. They are brutal to anyone with any deviations whatsoever. Its underlying message is of organized religion and the folly of superstition that is often a product of it.

Z for Zachariah? Might be more of a kid's book, but I think deals with the themes you mention. Not sure on the author.

I love the genre. Unfortunately I haven't found too much of it in literature. 'Oryx and Crake' was okay but not my cup of tea entirely.

I recommend the following.

'After the Flood' (Efter floden) by P.C. Jersild.