• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

What's wrong with the public library?

Mouse

I've only been a member for a month or so but I am interested to see that nearly all of you buy your books.

Is it because of consumerism and wanting to possess your own reading material?
- I know it's nice to read a brand new book but do you keep them all and never read them again?

Or is it because the library never has what you want?
- I can't believe that is totally true, as many of you seem to browse in bookshops and not always buy purposively.

Being a librarian I would be interested in what we need to do to encourage more readers to borrow ...

...or am I flogging a dead and mummified horse? :(

Well I both buy books and borrow from the library. If I really liked a book I read from the library I tend to want to purchase my own copy to: a) lend out and b) ready to read again at a later date.

As to why buy rather than use the library:

1) 3 weeks to read a book before you need to return it isn't always enough, especially for longer books. Buying your own allows you to read at your leisure. Granted it's not feasable to give unlimited borrowing time on all books, but for books such as 'A Suitable Boy' or 'The Stand' having more copies stocked and longer borrowing times may be the way to go.
2) Some people like to collect away
3) Not all the books in the library are in the best condition after they're returned. I know it shouldn't really make a difference, but to many people I know it does.