• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

Best & Worst

Jenem

kickbox
i'm a newbie, so excuse me if this thread's been done.

What is the best film adaptation, in your humble opinion? The worst?

The best, IMHO, is the A&E version of Pride & Prejudice. Ok, it's 5 hours long, but the plot sticks quite accurately to the novel (the reason for the length), and the character portrayals are outstanding. Maybe it's not fair to pick and A&E movie, though. Of Mice and Men would be my second choice.

Battlefield Earth could be the worst adaptation, but I can't recall the details of the movie. I just remember it was one of the worst, most disappointing movies ever.

Worst TV show to movie is the last Star Trek NG movie "Nemesis". Biggest disappointment ever. Who wrote that crap? Someone who never saw the series?

Best: Lord of the Rings, Shawshank Redemption, Harry Potter wasnt too bad

Worst: Egads ..... erm, Dune (the original one, with Sting!!), ive heard Battlefield Earth was a steaming pile of horse poopie, but ive never had the desire to see the film (nor have i read the book, but thats besides the point surely :D), probably some of those god-awful Shakespeare adaptations they insist on churning out *cough* Midsummer Nights Dream *cough*

.... and yes, this thread has been done before, but we wont hold that against you .... well, not really :p

Phil

LOTR was excellent, but some of the plot lines deviated too much from the book for me to include as a "best". i haven't read Shawshank Redemption (why haven't i???) but i did love the movie. nor have i read any harry potter books. why do i get put off by hype? thats why i never read harry potter. shame on me