1. Welcome to BookAndReader!

    We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

    Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

Books similar to da vinci code

Discussion in 'Book Search & Suggestions' started by sarah, May 25, 2004.

  1. scullyx101

    scullyx101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    i also enjoyed the da vinci code and wanted to read similar books. here's what i've found

    the genesis code - john case
    third secret - steve berry
    the historian - elizabeth kostova
    labyrinth - kate mosse
    the last Templar - Raymond Khoury
    The Romanov Prophecy - Steve Berry
    the eight - Katherine Neville
    Codex - Lev Grossman
    the secret supper - javier sierra
    the dante club - Matthew Pearl
    The Rule of Four - Ian Caldwell & Dustin Thomason
    the assassini - Thomas Gifford
    Amber Room - Steve Berry
    the club dumas - Arturo Perez-Reverte
    time camera - Terence lee

    granted, i've not read any of these yet, so i could be completely wrong, these are just what i've found on amazon and what people have reccomended to me, if anyone has actually read any of these books and i am wrong about them - please correct me, or if i'm right, elaborate.... hope i could help!
     
  2. Dogmatix

    Dogmatix New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    The 13 1/2 Lives of Captain Bluebear Walter Moers
    Scully from your list I have read:

    I enjoyed them all, particularly The Club Dumas, The Rule of Four and The Historian. You'll likely enjoy them as well.
     
  3. Ronny

    Ronny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,795
    Likes Received:
    45
    Currently Reading:
    Dark Places - Gillian Flynn
    The Club Dumas was a favorite of mine, I'd highly recommend it :)

    I have the Historian, the Rule of Four, the Codex and three Umberto Eco books here on my TBR shelf.
     
  4. superlibrarian

    superlibrarian New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    The Speed of Dark by Moon
    I'll second:

    The Eight by Neville, a knowledge of the game of chess will help in reading this book

    The Historian

    and

    The Club Dumas
     
  5. ions

    ions New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace
    I can't personally recommend them but Steve Berry's books are apparently very good comparitively.
     
  6. HermioneWeasley

    HermioneWeasley Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    Olympe de Cleves - Dumas
    are there any non-fic books you would suggest having to do with what is discussed in the da vinci code and other books? I mean, there are a ton of books out there like "uncoding the da vinci code" or "the truth behind the da vinci code" but which books are the good ones? has anyone read the Da Vinci Hoax? is it good?
     
  7. Ronny

    Ronny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,795
    Likes Received:
    45
    Currently Reading:
    Dark Places - Gillian Flynn
    I have not read them but I know a few of my friends did and talk about these two non-fiction books quite a bit, Genesis of the Grail kings : the explosive story of genetic cloning and the ancient bloodline of Jesus and Bloodline of the Holy Grail : the hidden lineage of Jesus revealed by Laurence Gardner.
     
  8. Shade

    Shade New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    Miss Herbert, Adam Thirlwell
    I know what you mean. I keep hoping someone else in the world will cotton on to the idea of writing down words one after another to make a story and then binding the pages together between covers to make a - what shall we call it? - a 'book'. But until that happens you're right, Dan Brown is all we will have to read.
     
  9. Stewart

    Stewart Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7,594
    Likes Received:
    1
    While I'm have no knowledge of the content of most you listed, I can state that this book has little in common with The Da Vinci Code despite the comparisons. True, there is some concern within for a historical document that still defies complete understanding today, but the novel is not a thriller. What it is, though, is a weak coming of age story set entirely in Princeton in which the authors catalogue their love affair with the establishment rather than do anything interesting with their book. As a result, the novel goes nowhere and we are left wanting our money back.

    It was one of the first books to be marketed in The Da Vinci Code explosion and, having been rushed to press because it supposedly had some mock-esoteric content it's inexperience shows in the areas of plotting and characterisation. The words, of course, were a bit better.
     
  10. Dogmatix

    Dogmatix New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    The 13 1/2 Lives of Captain Bluebear Walter Moers
    This one's not as close as the other suggestions to TDVC but it is a fictional novel with historical characters and does have to do with DaVinci's art. Leonardo's Swans - Karen Essex. I forgot to mention it earlier. I read it a few months ago and really enjoyed it.
     
  11. Isabell

    Isabell Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    2
    I read The Historian and liked it alot. Also The Last Templar was good. However, The Templar Legacy was painful. I got through the first chapter and returned it back. I just think I'm burned out in this Genre.
     
  12. HermioneWeasley

    HermioneWeasley Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    Olympe de Cleves - Dumas
    any other books you guys would suggest?

    there's a book called the Poe Shadow that i've seen, but haven't read, but the author of the Dante Club. I'll get around to it eventually.

    why was the templar legacy painful?
     
  13. Dogmatix

    Dogmatix New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    The 13 1/2 Lives of Captain Bluebear Walter Moers
    Just finished The Third Secret by Steve Berry. I have to say it was pretty good. Better than The Last Cato which I believe I mentioned earlier. Not too badly written and a fairly engrossing plotline. I'd recommend if you're wanting books in this style/genre.
     
  14. kuroc

    kuroc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    6 books at the same time :)
    I'm reading The Last Templar and am enjoying it.:D :D :D
     
  15. freak

    freak New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    try 'Map of Bones' by James Rollins or 'Templar Revelation' ....
     

Share This Page