1. Welcome to BookAndReader!

    We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

    Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

Books similar to da vinci code

Discussion in 'Book Search & Suggestions' started by sarah, May 25, 2004.

  1. sarah

    sarah New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone suggest books similar to da vinci code...the digital fortress. somethings thats intriguing as dan browns all titles. :)
     
  2. Wabbit

    Wabbit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    8,182
    Likes Received:
    1
    Currently Reading:
    words! I devour them, yet still I hunger.
    Angels and Demons by Dan Brown seems to be very much the same kinda thing. It even has the same central character :)

    Regards
    SillyWabbit
     
  3. sarah

    sarah New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I meant books by other authors. I've completed all dan browns titles
     
  4. Wabbit

    Wabbit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    8,182
    Likes Received:
    1
    Currently Reading:
    words! I devour them, yet still I hunger.
    You should have said :p

    Well, I dont know then. The best person you should ask is called Mile-O-File. He loves those kinds of books and I am sure if you send him a nice PM telling him you love Dan Brown and want to find something like it he will be most happy to help :D

    Regards
    SillyWabbit

    PS: Tell him the Wabbit sent you :D
     
  5. {Tigress}

    {Tigress} kickbox

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're the first sadistic wabbit I've ever met!! Cruel. Cruel. Cruel.

    I kinda like it! ;)
     
  6. Wabbit

    Wabbit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    8,182
    Likes Received:
    1
    Currently Reading:
    words! I devour them, yet still I hunger.
    lol :D

    Regards
    SillyWabbit
     
  7. mr_michel

    mr_michel kickbox

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    deadly percheron - J. F. Bardin/ New Moon - S. M.
    try "the word" by irving wallace, its hard to get but maybe in a second hand bookstore
     
  8. headpodd

    headpodd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try the Genesis Code by John Case. Not as good as The Da Vinci Code but still very memorable. Its kind of similar in that it is about hiding historical / religious stuff, quite damning on the catholic church and leaves you with that 'what if?' feeling.
     
  9. phil_t

    phil_t New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,318
    Likes Received:
    1
    Currently Reading:
    Ringworld - Larry Niven
    I would never hesitate to recommend Foucault's Pendulum, by Umberto Eco!! :D

    Phil
     
  10. Wabbit

    Wabbit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    8,182
    Likes Received:
    1
    Currently Reading:
    words! I devour them, yet still I hunger.
    Yeah, I hear that is a good one from someplace :D

    Regards
    SillyWabbit
     
  11. RaVeN

    RaVeN New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    The Talisman-King & Straub
    I recently read a review of The Rule of Four by Ian Caldwell that called it a cross of The DVC and Donna Tartt's The Secret History. Having never read The Secret History, I don't know if that's a good thing or not....but there you go.

    You might also take a look at The Amber Room by Steve Berry and Loot by Aaron Elkins. Both are fun little diversions.


    RaVeN
     
  12. Stewart

    Stewart Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7,594
    Likes Received:
    1
    In a mystery sense or a historical sense?

    Watching Paint Dry for Dummies :rolleyes:
     
  13. Stewart

    Stewart Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7,594
    Likes Received:
    1
    I got a nice PM, you sarcastic rabbit. :)
     
  14. RaVeN

    RaVeN New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    The Talisman-King & Straub

    Did you learn anything? :D


    RaVeN
     
  15. sarah

    sarah New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    mysterious history.....actually I loved the deception point also and wouldnt mind some sci-fic like that.
     
  16. {Tigress}

    {Tigress} kickbox

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    See! I TOLD Wabbit he was being sadistic and cruel, but he just laughed at me. Now maybe he'll just be jealous that YOU got a nice PM and he didn't. :D
     
  17. HermioneWeasley

    HermioneWeasley Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently Reading:
    Olympe de Cleves - Dumas
    Books like the Da Vinci code?

    could you guys suggest some thrillers/mystery books for me that are like dan brown's da vinci code and others? Ones that aren't jsut stupid mysteries, but that actually have interesting information in them and require you to think. My dad has read all of dan brown's books and now has nothing to read, and i've read all of dan brown's books except deception point, and we kinda need books to read....

    also, what books would you suggest that focus on the history the da vinci code focuses on? the holy grail, mary magdalene? are there good non fiction books you would suggest? any fiction books abut those times, or about conspiracy theories or anything?
     
  18. mehastings

    mehastings Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    3,036
    Likes Received:
    2
    HW, I've merged your thread into this already existing one. Despite the shenanigans there are some good suggestions here. I'd go with Foucault's Pendulum by Umberto Eco.
     
  19. beer good

    beer good Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,510
    Likes Received:
    52
    Currently Reading:
    "NW", Smith
    I second "Foucault's Pendulum".

    "The Athenian Murders" by José Carlos Somoza is a heck of a lot better than the DVC.

    "The Historian" by Elizabeth Kostova might work too.
     
  20. zen

    zen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    1
    Currently Reading:
    Dresden Files
    The Historian was a good read, a good twist on the Dracula thing..

    how about:

    The Last Templar - Raymond Khoury

    The Templar Legacy - Steve Berry

    have a read about them first of course.. i can't personally recommend either of them, but have had them recommended to me as being along the same lines.. both books are on my list...

    anyone here read either of those books? thoughts?
     

Share This Page