• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

Fiction vs. nonfiction

fabkebab

Hi there everyone - I am a newbie so forgive me if this is an old, old question -

But how much fiction do you read vs. nonfiction?

For my part, I mostly read nonfiction (because it is typically less disappointing than fiction) - But i want to be someone who reads a lot more fiction...

I also read mostly non-fiction. But a few novels and short story collections sneak in here and there. I keep hearing a stereotype that only people who want to write fiction read fiction. I doubt that's true, but it probably becomes more and more true every year as huge swaths of fiction become little more than vehicles for movie pilots. Not much recent fiction catches my eye. Plus, committing the time to something I may not find any satisfaction in increases the risk of buying and consuming modern fiction. I've had many disappointments.

I do notice these days as I traipse through bookstores that fiction sections seem vacant. Maybe one or two people scratching their chins trying to weigh the risks. But nearly every other department (apart from philosophy) teems with people. Some people I know theorize that fiction is a purely functional section that doesn't get browsed. People who buy fiction know what they're buying so they go, grab, and scat. I don't know. All I see are empty fiction aisles in almost every bookstore I visit. This doesn't give one a warm fuzzy feeling about the state or the future of the genre.

I try to keep it a 1:1 ratio but is seems like lately I am reading more fiction than nonfiction.