• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

Let's talk about people.

Lovecraftian

I love sharing, and I think that human relations are the core of just about everything that matters to humans. Someone can have all the cash in the world but if he's unhappy with his wife or friends or is under some other type of human pressure, he won't be happy. We have to come first; everything else is a by-product of how we treat ourselves and others. I guess that sounds weird. Maybe.

I’d also like to hear more about your profession (MsBlueEyzz ). Having a master’s in the psych field is no joke to me; in fact, it’s uber-cool. I have a dime-store master’s in psych, and I’m proud of it. That’s another long story, but the short version is that I would frequently screw around and dip into stores at my last job, the main one being the used bookstore. I had gotten it into my head that I would be a psychologist and help people, so I began buying used psych books and reading the hell out of them.

I read these things cover-to-cover and would go get more. To be honest, there is no other field nearly as fascinating to me as studying the human mind. I fully believe that if more people took a few psych classes or read a few books they would be able to solve many, many more of the problems in their lives. Almost all of our problems stem from us, initially, and our gut reaction is to become angry and blame others.

Once we move past that, it’s like existing in another realm. Sure, other people do things that bother us or hurt us, and we cannot control them, but we can control our reactions to them, and that’s a huge part of the key to human success to me.

ANY-how, /ramble. Damn, ya got me doing it again.