• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

What's the WORST book you ever read?

Sell Sword

I try not to be too critical of published works, but let's face it: we've all read some absolute dreck at one time or another.

I'd have to say "Left Behind" wins the award for worst novel I've ever had the misfortune to read. I found it to be written on a very low intellectual level (and I'm no Rocket Scientist). It's a shame, too, because I felt that it had potential.

Hmm... I don't know what the worst is for me.

The worst Stephen King: Hearts in Atlantis. I enjoyed the first story, couldn't stand the rest.

I have books I dislike, but whether they are the worst, I'm not sure.
However, I think the worst book I've ever read is "Sabrina Fludde", because it had so much potential. That is, I loved the beginning, and the middle was alright but the ending was out-right unrealistic fantasy or not. I was so disappointed.

The Da Vinci Code, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nightime, anything by Stephen King since Insomnia, and anything by James Herbert since The Ghosts of Sleath.

The Hiram Key by Christopher Knight and Robert Lomas. If writing is like architecture, I wouldn't trust these guys to build a doghouse.

soxfan said:
The Hiram Key by Christopher Knight and Robert Lomas. If writing is like architecture, I wouldn't trust these guys to build a doghouse.

Interesting. Care to give an example?